Accounts-merge vs. accounts-meld

I’m wondering what the similarities & differences are between @splendido 's “Accounts Meld” and @mikael 's “Accounts Merge” ?

At first glance, they both seem allow a single account to have multiple logins (social and/or email/password). I’m wondering if anyone has had any experience with these packages to provide any advice or insight on which may be better suited for a new project.

thank you!

3 Likes

I’m not sure what you need your project to do but I have been rolling my own account merging for my personal projects. I feel like I get more control when it comes to dealing with the different services that I want incorporated into my apps. I have no experience with these packages but here is a link to a stack overflow question from a while ago that would tell you how to handle your own if you wanted.

And here is the relevant code snippet.

orig_updateOrCreateUserFromExternalService = Accounts.updateOrCreateUserFromExternalService;
Accounts.updateOrCreateUserFromExternalService = function(serviceName, serviceData, options) {
  var loggedInUser = Meteor.user();
  if(loggedInUser && typeof(loggedInUser.services[serviceName]) === "undefined") {
    var setAttr = {};
    setAttr["services." + serviceName] = serviceData;
    Meteor.users.update(loggedInUser._id, {$set: setAttr});
}
return orig_updateOrCreateUserFromExternalService.apply(this, arguments);
}
3 Likes

I’m using splendido:accounts-meld - working like a charm. Users can’t create multiple accounts with the same e-mail.

Ok, I’m the author of accounts-meld, so my point of view might be a little biased :wink:

I wrote accounts-meld after I studied accounts-merge quite well: at that time the bigger problem I found was this security issue. I have no idea whether lirbank fixed it later on or not but I strongly suggest anyone interested to check it again!

This said accounts-meld have been around for a while and prooved to by quite good.