My React-Learning Journey

What started out as a short answer to a “what resources did you use for learning React” question on the meteor mentor slack channel, ended up as a post of its own. Now since that I am not a blogger - I really don’t have a blog - I’ll post it here where I think it will be of better use, in the right context:

First of all, I must admit that I’ve been on top of all the news, developments and blog posts since React first ever hit Meteor, so it is fair to say that I have never been a total newbie.

So I guess I should first say that if you ever intend to learn something, begin following the news on that topic. Even quickly skimming through discussions and blog posts will amount to “some level of subconscious understanding” of that topic.

Anyway, about a week ago, I delivered a huge project and had this one-week gap before taking on another fairly large one, with which I’ve already decided to go the React route.

So here’s another word of wisdom, make sure you have a project that you have the opportunity to apply that newly acquired knowledge on. Otherwise everything you’ll think you’ve learned will have vanished into thin air.

I had been “informally” using ES2015 so I also wanted to take this opportunity to formalize my knowledge of that topic as well. And also sprinkle in some npm, babelrc, webpack as well as a pinch of react-css-land.

I must say that everyone has a different learning style. I like having multiple api docs and tutorials open at the same time and jumping around. Since they all touch similar topics, concentrating more on different aspects, it also happens to be a great opportunity to see different takes on doing the same thing.

So, apart from great forum and blog posts, comments, boilerplates, example apps and packages from people like @abhiaiyer, @arunoda, @ffxsam, @gadicc, @joshowens, @sacha, @skinnygeek1010, @timbrandin, @tomredox ; what did I “formally” read and watch? Here’s a list: