A new Handlebars/Vue like UI lib called Marko from eBay

Check out MARKO and let us know if this new UI lib can be used with Meteor if you’re interested.

3 Likes

MarkoJS by eBay is a very fast and high performance (…faster than React and Vue - according to the doc) UI library powering eBay.com. I haven’t seen any integration point with Meteor reactive data, though can be used easily with Apollo or meteor methods for data fetching…It’ll be nice to see its usage with Meteor reactivity.

1 Like

I’m not familiar with framework integration processes. MarkoJS seems really interesting to me, but I’m wondering what would need to be done to integrate it with Meteor. I could certainly wait for someone to do it one day, but if the process is not too complex, maybe I could try it out myself… Can anyone give a hint at what the steps would look like?

1 Like

Maybe the same way as meteor choose to back React?

Searched Marko docs and found this:

Please note that I have no experience with Marko but I’m looking at it as a developer that really want to use it with Meteor :slight_smile:

Somebody else chip in here please as this might not be the best way?

2 Likes

That looks promising. The issues around integration with Tracker are likely to be the same as with Blaze - avoiding unnecessary re-renders.

1 Like

If Marko is as clever as Vue, you shouldn’t have to do anything special. All that the vue-meteor-tracker integration does is use Tracker.autorun to copy the whole collection.find().fetch() results to the Vue component data on every change. With the v-dom and other optimizations Vue has, the rerenders are still kept to a miminum.

Having said that maybe it’d be better if it used cursor.observe instead to more selectively update the data :thinking:

1 Like

Yeah - the issue is around “how do you know your reactive data has finished changing, so you can render?”