Abandoned Packages on Atmosphere and its effect on Community Morale

I think it is important that people feel like that packages that made MeteorJS such an initial success will be continued to be maintained and enhanced into the future. Can we use this topic as an area to collect input as to what important packages are in need of a maintainer and then try and identify people willing to take on that task. I would personally like to see raix:push maintained and I made my availability know to raix on Github, but another package people frequently mention is iron:router. So I will add those two to the list to get it started. I have the time to help maintain one of these two packages. So if raix:push is covered then I will volunteer for iron:router. I have been a software engineer for about 6 years but i am not as experienced as a JS developer so any assistance would be welcomed :slight_smile:

raix:push
could use some help (it is not abandoned just in need of assistance)
iron:router
this package has been inactive for about 2.5 years so it could use a new maintainer, and hopefully the original publisher could provide a bit of a knowledge transfer to get the renewed effort started

5 Likes

Maybe we need more of a matrix of old vs new packages. There are many I use that have newer equivalents, but I’m not always aware of them. For Iron:Router - most have moved over to Flow Router, which itself has a better maintained alternative version. It’s hard to keep track of it all.

There is an attempt to gather some of the most used packages and get them in a pool where engaged developers can provide timely updates. Meteor Community Packages. Check it out.

4 Likes

ohh nice … this is definitely what i was thinking of. A place where the stuff that matters to people could get taken care of.

And i agree that iron:router may have been kind of surpassed, but some people like it best even to this day. So i’d like to see if people would like to be maintained into the future

1 Like