Apollo suppose to make things easier - What am I doing wrong?

I am working on a quite new project for a client which has the opportunity to grow quite big over time. After settings up my basics I thought it would be ideal to use Apollo on this project in addition to Meteor / React. I learnt the basics, set up everything and it is working (yeah !). So pretty boring story.

I am still new to Apollo and my problem is that using Apollo I changed some lines of Meteor/Mongo code to hundreds of line of type, input, queries and so on and I start to very much doubt about how usefull it will be for me.

To be a bit more precise in my case I have quite a lot of input data that have to be typed in by the client and those data are used for some specific calculation using an external solution on server side and then you get some results. The input data can be saved

It’s an object with booleans, strings, arrays of objects, objetcs… so quite a complex fellow. While in ‘classic’ Meteor/Mongo I was just saving my data object as a whole with some type checks, using Apollo I had to define the whole thing manually with all the “type” and all the “input” which is a 200 lines .graphql file. I then have my mutations separately and the resolver (which at the end is just doing Collection.insert({}).

Then when I want to call my objects, as there is no “*” wildcard I again had to define a 100 line long query…

Here is the question, or more the discussion opener : Am I missing something, doing something wrong, or will it be usefull over time ??

Before when I wanted data from Mongo I was just Meteor.call(‘getCalculationData’, calculationId) and then storing them in my react state and now I need a 100 line query ? Is my project not right for Apollo, or will I see the light later when it becomes bigger and more complex ?

Thanks in advance for your opinion.