Autoform troubles

I’m new to Meteor and working on a “learning” project. I’m adapting a tutorial app for my own purposes (thank you George McKnight for the meteorshop video and repo!).

I’ve added peppelg:bootstrap-3-modal and aldeed:autoform to my project and I’ve setup this template:

<template name="productModalEdit">
  <div class="modal fade" role="dialog">
    <div class="modal-dialog" >
      <div class="modal-content">
        <div class="modal-header">
          <h4 class="modal-title">Edit Product</h4>
        </div>
        <div class="modal-body">
            {{#autoForm id="afUpdateProduct" doc=selectedProductDoc type="method-update" singleMethodArgument=false meteormethod="editProduct" collection=Collections.Products}}
              <fieldset>
                  {{> afQuickField name='name'}}
                  {{> afQuickField name='desc' rows=4}}
                  {{> afQuickField name='price'}}
                  {{> afQuickField name='thumb'}}
                  {{> afQuickField name='catName'}}
              </fieldset>
              <div class="form-group">
                <button type="submit" class="btn btn-primary" id="save">Save Product</button>
                <button type="reset" class="btn btn-default">Reset Form</button>
              </div>
            {{/autoForm}}
        </div>
      </div>
    </div>
  </div>
</template>

There’s actually an almost duplicate template for inserting, so I call different templates for insert vs. update. There are two different meteor methods that correspond with each operation.

I have the following client javascript:

// helper to get the product categories out of the database
Template.productModalNew.helpers({
  categories:function(){
    return SubCategories.find().map(function (doc) {
      return doc.name;
    })
  }
});

// add or update events for the product modal form template
Template.productModalNew.events({
  'click #save': function(e) {
    e.preventDefault();
    Modal.hide('productModalNew');