@babel/runtime error creating local package

I am attempting to draft a new package in the packages directory within a larger Meteor project (so that I can test out the package and its use at the same time). I’ve worked with the packages directory before, but I’m not an expert in writing from-scratch Meteor packages, and this package is written in modern ecmascript, so maybe that’s the issue? Anyway, I’m getting this classic error message when running meteor (in the larger Meteor project):

=> Errors prevented startup:

While loading plugin `compileStaticPug` from package `edemaine:static-pug`:
   packages/babel-runtime.js:20:9:
   The @babel/runtime npm package could not be found in your node_modules
   directory. Please run the following command to install it:

meteor npm install --save @babel/runtime

at module (packages/babel-runtime.js:20:9)
   at fileEvaluate (packages/modules-runtime.js:336:7)
   at Module.require (packages/modules-runtime.js:238:14)
   at require (packages/modules-runtime.js:258:21)
   at packages/babel-runtime.js:53:15
   at packages/babel-runtime.js:58:3

I’m confused by this message because

1. node_modules/@babel/runtime exists (in the larger project), and is depended upon by package.json (in the larger project). [And the Meteor project was working fine before I created this package and meteor added this package.] I’ve also tried deleting node_modules and running meteor npm install again.
  2. I didn’t think that packages were supposed to depend on @babel/runtime explicitly, only on the ecmascript Meteor package. (To do so would require a specific version, which seems bad.)

Here’s the package’s package.js (in packages/static-pug/package.js):

Package.describe({
  name: 'edemaine:static-pug',
  summary: "Define static page content in .pug files",
  version: '0.0.0',
  git: 'TODO'
});

Package.registerBuildPlugin({
  name: 'compileStaticPug',
  use: [
    'caching-compiler@1.2.2',
    'ecmascript@0.14.3',
    'templating-tools@1.1.2',