Basic help with React Komposer, props and states, multi-component

I’m new to Meteor, new to JavaScript and new to everything and I’m stuck on what, probably, will be an easy thing…

I have in my application a page that fetches data from an HTTP API, with the help of a container, and shows the results in a UI component. I’m using react-komposer for this.

It’s working fine with the hardcoded arguments to the HTTP API call but now I’m reading posts and blogs for three days trying to get the arguments to call the API from the user in a reactive way (two date-times, and two more values from two selection lists).

The problem I have is: how should I pass up the results from the datepickers and selection lists in the component where the UI resides so I can re-query the api and render the list again?

All solutions I find until now direct me to using an store as Redux but as I just started learning I prefer to avoid another level of complexity (all this is enough complex as is :innocent:).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

Mario

1.) your container / component that is composed with react-komposer should take all these props:

// ignore context if its not a mantra app
const composer = ({context, startDate, endDate, someValue, otherValue}, onData) => {
   // do the call
   HTTP.get("http://example.com/?startDate="+startDate+"...etc...", onData)
}

```

so that it can be called like this

```
<FancyHttpLoadingList startDate={startDate}  endDate={endDate} someValue={someValue} otherValue={otherValue} />

```

now you have a component where you can specify the dates. I would suggest to call it now with your "hardcoded" arguments, but as properties of the component to see if it works still fine.

2.) now, wrap your `<FancyHttpLoadingList />` in another component that has some state (React.Component instance, or recompose or redux, or LocalState, ...)