Becoming proficient as a developer

I’m a self taught developer (I’m using that title very loosely) who started building apps for fun about 18 months ago. I’m at the point where things are starting to make more sense and I’d like to take the next step in coding to become more proficient. I’ve been using meteor and react with mongodb.

I’d like to become more proficient, to be able to code without having to rely on documentation as much. I assume that requires me commiting more to memory.

So as a discussion point can I get some ideas from some solid coders on where I should start and what I should focus on memorizing to get the most improvement in my coding ability?

1 Like

I think if you use a specific library often enough, you’ll begin to just remember different parts of it. Otherwise, I’m not sure there is any harm in checking out documentation or referring to old projects of yours for code snippets. Even if you’re dan abram (or whatevs his name is), you’re still going to need to read the docs when you use a new library or npm package.

Others can chime in, but I’d guess all you can do is keep coding and read books on 'high level" concepts. Stay up to date on the latest specs… understand the full stack (testing, back, front) and to also be able to work outside of meteor (regular node, webpack, react).

1 Like

I’m in a similar situation, but I think it’s hard to give general advice because each person’s needs and abilities vary. I think the best way to learn to just to code every day on challenging projects. You could memorize everything about lodash or mongodb aggregate queries, but maybe there are other things to learn which you’d use more for your specific projects.

I’ll add that reading other people’s code is a good idea. It can be a big boost to your confidence when you start to see ways to improve other people’s approaches :slight_smile: