Beginner - IDE Stuck in Root Directory via FTP

So, I’m just starting in node.js. I’m using an CentOS box in AWS to host the meteor server and attempting to use PSPad to FTP into the directory and edit the files. This is less of a meteor question and more in the realm of Linux and permissions but I figure someone probably ran into this in the process of setting up their development workstation. With Filezilla I can FTP into all directories and view the HTML, .js, etc. files for my app. However, when I FTP in with PSPad or Notepad++ using the nppFTP plugin I can only view the root directory. I’m not sure why this is and I’m still fairly new to Linux. I did set the file owner to the account I am logging in with. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Not sure why you’d need to ftp into the server, as that is typically where the meteor bundle lives, not the code you are actually editing that goes into the bundle.

I’m just using FTP for the purpose of having an IDE over a basic text editor. I’m attempting to access the directories that contain my files that the meteor server is actually hosting so that I can edit in a simpler environment. I installed meteor into /var/foldername/myapp. This is also where my actual files that the service is running are stored. What I’ve noticed is that I can’t access any sub-directories outside of root. So /var shows a blank listing except for the parent directory. However, in Filezilla I can successfully access /var/foldername/myapp/client/main.html and my other files. These files were installed with Meteor I believe.

Well there are two issues here – the first is that you are having trouble accessing the directories in your ftp connection. Not sure what flavor of linux you’re on, but in Ubuntu, I can just connect to server, and then browse those files in any application.