Best OS for Meteor development?

I am in the market for a new laptop, and am wondering if I should use Windows 7, 8, 10, or some flavor of Linux (Ubuntu)?

This will be a general purpose/dev laptop, with most and perhaps all of the dev being Meteor.

Is one OS decidedly better for Meteor development, or is it pretty much a case of “six of one, half dozen of the other”?

My first computer was a Macintosh (Classic), but since I’ve been a professional developer (20+ years), I’ve had only Windows (Delphi, then C#, and some Java). I’m not “married” to Windows, though. I’d be willing to switch to Linux or Mac if there was a decided advantage to do so.

Or perhaps a dual-boot system, with Windows 10 & Ubuntu, or some other combination.

I’m also open to suggestions on a dev laptop (make and model). I’m not a gamer, either as a player or a developer, so don’t need a super-duper system in that sense.

If you want develop Meteor mobile apps, windows will not satisfy you at the moment.
As it is not supported.

At this moment I would recommend you OSX, because there you have also the option to develop apps for iOS systems.

I mainly use windows, but run OSX on a VM for certain needs (e.g. building for iOS). In conclusion, if you want an OS where you can do everything meteor related on I’d suggest OSX, but honestly it doesn’t matter if you’re comfortable with running VM’s.

VM’s, as mentioned above are the way forward in my opinion. I use Windows 10 and have an Ubuntu vm for testing on Android. Of course, osx allows you to compile for ios too but you could also just set up an osx vm.

In short, I don’t think it matters as long as you’re comfortable running VM’s, again as mentioned above!

Licence-wise, you may only set-up a VM for OSX on Apple-metal. Anything else is a breach of terms.

1 Like

As is the apple way…

1 Like