Best place to fetch documents: iron:router or template helpers?

Hi all,

I’m new to Meteor and I’m currently building a web app. I’m wondering what’s the best place to fetch documents between everything in the route definition using the data property, or everything in the template helper or a mix of them.

Currently, I’m mixing it. For a page with a collection, I get them from the template helper. But on a details page, since I get the document id from the route, I fetch the document within the route definition.

But, as an enterprise developer, who’s used to layered architectures and design patterns, it feels strange to access data on different places.

I’ll read your input with great interest!

Regards,
Fabian

Currently I’m doing things the same way as you do.
I’d also love to hear some answers to this.

I would advise against using Iron Router data function, especially if you are new to Meteor.

data is called within a hidden autorun, meaning that any single reactive change within data will trigger a new call to data and a full Blaze update sequence.

IMO, the right way to fetch data is:

• to use a template helper directly if data is used once,
  • to use a a template helper and a local #with if data is used more than once within a template,
  • to use atomic reactive storage (Session, reactiveDict, reactiveVar) in other cases.
2 Likes

Thanks for your input Steve!

So, if I want to move document access to tempate helpers on details views, should I store the document id in the data function of the route or within the Session?

Thanks again,
Fabian

The data function. This way, you can just call template.instance().documentId inside your template without having to care where that id is actually coming from. And if you ever decide to switch to a different router later you won’t have to change your template code.

If you’re only using data for the _id, the problems @Steve was talking about don’t really apply.

1 Like