Beyond todo app. how does real-world app work?

Hi, I’m a newbie programmer who wants to know how things work other than todo app.
Here is my background to let you know how newbie programmer I am
(basic html+css+javascript and few hours of jquery and then meteor… started with blaze, now I forgot most of it as I started to learn React. while learning meteor, first time using console, knowing database, routing etc… )

Problem is that after I read many articles, I still don’t know how to build something more than a todo app. I hope you suggest the big pictures of structuring a web app.

I’m not really sure what kind of collections I should make or how to divide it and where to put user specific data. how real world app can be made using Meteor.

Example 1 - Amazon (It apply to FB, Pinterest, any e-commerce, Netflix, )
here’s the basic 4 important Features

1. I see lists of books nicely (I can search, sort. top 10 books, recommended list for me etc… )
    how to - subscribe to the Book db collection (get data) and give it to UI component where render only book image, title, author, stars, price.
  2. If clicked, go to clicked book’s page(all the book has its page)
    how to - if one component is clicked, route to its book page. I now render all the information I have. (product detail, summary, reviews etc…)
  3. see the details of book, If I want it to be at my cart/wish list
    -I don’t know… - if click “add to list”, clicked item(book) will go to my wish list. if click “add to cart”, it goes to shopping cart
  4. user page(It could be my wish list, shopping cart, liked books, purchased books, whatever user specific things can be seen )
  • I don’t know…

My How-to idea is… I will make 2 collections like this

users collection - (meteor’s login system)

{_id : qwrifuasdnflwk,
  username : "john",
  email : john@gmail.com,
  password : ???? 
},   ...many other user exist

Book collection - where I put all the data of each book

[ { _id : weradjfionsdf,