Big, breaking surprise when copy/pasting documents in MongoChef originally created by Meteor

Hello,

Just wanted to share something I experienced only a few minutes ago.

Using MongoChef, I copied documents and pasted them into the same collection.
I noticed that the _id fields were somewhat different, but didn’t really worry.

The existing _ids were like “Xjgx8G2Kiqvhh7hc2”, and the new ones (for the pasted documents) were like "5816fec9532f72fd0eaa13b7"
Turns out, this breaks everything, as one of my users alerted me while he was lecturing to 200+ students.

The Meteor-created _id fields are string, while the Mongo or MeteorChef created _id fields are ObjectIds.
Any code that does document._id will of course break.

I’m not trying to put blame anywhere, but I’ve been using Meteor now for a long time (2+ years).
This caught me by total surprise, even though I try to read as much documentation as possible.

I hope this post helps someone avoid this issue.

Can someone tell where I can and could’ve learned more about this issue?
Thanks! :slight_smile:

This appears as a MongoChef “feature” to replace ids when creating new documents. Should be easy to change in the settings.

Thanks, daveTheOnly!

However, this occurred to me too, but I could not find a setting in MongoChef for OS X.

Do you know how?

Sorry it is not in the settings… It should prompt you, when you copy. Just tried it with some sample data and it worked without overwriting the ids.

I’m not sure what you mean by overwriting the ids.

If I copy document-a created by meteor, and paste it back in (without deleting document-a first), then it doesn’t ask me anything but “paste documents from clipboard?”

Then, it created document-b with id = ObjectId(). Now, I have two documents: document-a with id=String, and document-b with id = ObjectId().

Is this what you did too?

I copied the document between databases.