Blaze SimpleSchema Forms Tutorial

Hi,

I’ve been using Meteor for about 8 months now and have relied heavily on the autoform package when creating forms which has been fantastic however I’d like to take the next step and learn to manually create complex forms.

I’ve read that using simpleschema then manually building forms is a great way to go.

I understand the basics, however, I was hoping someone could point me in the right direct for a tutorial on the way to build insert/update forms that are complex and runs through select, checkboxes, etc.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Great question. I’d like to do this as well, but I’ll just add, manual (“inside template”) reactive client side form validation. This is the one feature that keeps me with Autoform.

1 Like

Good point. That would great. A tutorial on this would be amazing.

Yeah, I’ve been looking for a solution and asking around about this for a long time now, I think with MDG’s shift to React and Apollo, that ship has sailed unfortunately. I’m having a hard time finding new tutorials and howto’s on Blaze these days.

1 Like

To be clear, what you are looking for is a tutorial on how to manually validate and display errors on a standard html form in blaze?

I’m not sure what you mean by “standard forms”. I know how to do simple input textbox forms. What would be good is tutorial that creates an input/update form with things like, select-checkbox, select-options, etc. Plus validation with display errors when using simpleschema.

Oh, so an advanced autoform tutorial using simple-schema for form definition and validation?

1 Like

Yes. That sounds right.

I’ve actually been thinking about doing a quick video on simple-react-form. I could see about putting something together for auto form as well. Can you give an example of the complexity you are looking for?

That would be cool.