Building Desktop Application

Hi, I’m just wondering if ya’ll would let me know if you think Meteor is the right tool for me.

I have written an application in Filemaker for dog sports trial secretaries. People sign their dogs up for trials, the secretary enters into the software what classes the dog is entered in, sends out email confirmations, puts together a running order, keeps track of payments etc. Filemaker is okay but there are a lot of things about it I don’t like and so I’m looking for an alternative.

Most of these trial secretary software apps are written in Access because it’s free to develop in. But I develop and run on a Mac, so I want something I can write and sell that runs both on a Mac and Windows. My market is super small, maybe 200 clubs will buy my product total. I can’t sell it for more than $250 a pop so I need something really inexpensive (or free) to develop it in. I was a programmer before I retired so I have a lot of the skills I need to make a nice product.

Looks like Meteor uses MongoDB so I can have a database associated with it. I want it to be cross-platform and I’d love if it didn’t take me a year to put this together. Since I really won’t be making enough money to pay for my time. But I am a dog sports secretary so I want a nice software that’s easy to use and intuitive.

One of the things I dislike about Filemaker is that to update it, users have to export the data in the database, update the software, then import the data back. It worries me every time a user has to do that because I just know someone will screw up and lose all their data. I would love it if there was a much easier update process.

Thanks in advance! I’m working through a tutorial now and it looks pretty nice so far.
Cynthia

This is all over the place. You’re using Filemaker to create your application but it’s a hassle so you’re looking for an alternative and considering Meteor for the job. Did I get it right?