Choosing a css framework to use with React

Hi All,

I’m just getting started with Meteor and want to thank the community for the active forums. I’ve been lurking for a while trying to soak up as much as possible before I start writing my app.

I’m planning to write an application that will be used by accountants and their clients. It’s not really consumer facing, so it needs to be functional and not hideous, but not necessarily beautiful. I’m a developer, not a designer, and there will be no designer working on this project. I’m trying to figure out the best CSS/UI framework to use for this project. I’m looking for something that will allow me to build quickly and maintain easily. Something that is stable enough to have good documentation and not have lots of bugs, but not something that I will need to rip and replace in a few months because it’s been superseded.

Constraints:

1. Looks pretty good out of the box without a lot of custom CSS needed.
  2. Contains a wide variety of components so that I can stick with one framework and not waste time trying to find the best X every time I need something.
  3. Needs to work well with React. Best would be a framework implemented as React components (for javascript pieces), but I would settle for a framework whose js portions play nice with React (without manipulating the DOM).
  4. Great documentation
  5. This is primarily a desktop browser app. I don’t really need it to be responsive for mobile. If it can be, that’s a bonus.

I’ve read some comparisons, but many of them seem to focus on what’s best for sites instead of what’s best for apps. Here is a summary of my research so far:

Bootstrap 3

• Seems like the most popular choice
  • Built in LESS (I’m not really familiar with LESS or SASS, but it seems like SASS is becoming more popular and might be more powerful?)
  • Lots of components
  • Excellent documentation