Clearing minimongo - is it possible without a page refresh?

I’ve tried to tackle this multiple times over the past few weeks, and what in concept seems quite simple, is something I have struggled with every time. I haven’t yet come across a solution in these forums so posting this thread in the hope that someone can point me in the right direction (and hopefully help others in my situation because surely, this is a common scenario):

For reference, I am using React on the front-end, and getting reactive data via withTracker.

• I have a page that subscribes to some documents
  • The user has an option to change a filter via a dropdown from ‘all’ to ‘sent’, ‘failed’ or ‘opened’.
  • When the user changes the dropdown, this is sent to the server, which modifies the filter and query selector for the publication
  • This works great for any new data coming down the wire, BUT, does not clear minimongo of old data that was present before a finer-grained filter was put in place.

#Question:

Is there a way to clear the minimongo cache?

Stuff that does not seem to have worked (unless I messed up the execution of it):

• The .stop() function
  • Calling a ._collection.remove({}) on minimongo (which causes all sorts of unpredictable results) - I think this is because in this case the server thinks certain documents have been sent when minimongo has removed them
  • Stopping the subscription and starting a new one with different parameters

I hope the above scenario makes sense? Any help much appreciated!

Cheers

Currently it seems to me that you’re relying solely on the publication to select what the user sees on the page. In other words, it seems that you’re doing a Collection.find({query}) in the publication and then just doing a Collection.find({}) on the client inside React to display everything contained in Minimongo. If that’s the case, then I’d advise against that.