Concept of React Container in Meteor

Greetings,

I am just starting out with React, I am trying to grasp the concept of a createContainer and Containers in general with React. Could some one please explain this concept and it’s purpose.

Thank you,

Ryan.

2 Likes

This article makes a good explanation imo: https://www.sitepoint.com/react-higher-order-components/

The TL;DR is that a container component and a pure component create a separation of concerns with data and markup.

An example would be a Profile component. It takes in props props.fullName, props.email and then renders out the markup. If you’re using inline styles you can add them to the bottom of this Profile component as well. Note, because it only takes in props it can be re-used in any part of the app or an entirely different app. It’s also really easy to test (if even needed). Sometime you’ll here this being called a “dumb component” because it doesn’t know anything about the app.

Example

//   src/components/profile/profile.js

import React from "react";

const Profile = React.createClass({
  propTypes: {
    email: React.PropTypes.string,
    fullName: React.PropTypes.string,
    isLoading: React.PropTypes.bool.isRequired,
  },

render() {
    if (this.props.isLoading) return <div>Loading Profile...</div>;

return (
      <div>
         Name: {this.props.fullName} , Email: {this.props.email}
      </div>
    );
  }
});

Now a “container component” is nothing more than a React component that handles data fetching and perhaps even ‘tidying’ up the data for the view (striping out un-needed data or taking firstName and lastName to create a fullName prop. It could make a call to a Meteor method and save the response in it’s state, or hook up apollo, or redux, etc…

Basically it only gathers data, manipulates data, and passes down data and/or functions down to the view (in general).

Example:

//   src/components/profile/index.js

import React from "react";
import Profile from "./profile";