Controlling several Meteor app from a central Meteor app

Hello!

I would like to know if there is a best practice on how to control a large number of deployed apps from one central Meteor admin application. Typical tasks would include fetch statistics, creating items in collections and so on.

To make my question a bit clearer, here my situation. The app that I am developing at the moment should be deployed to a cloud, on instance for each client (institutions in my case). This should be done to make the apps run independently from each other, so only crashes and not all. As an admin, I would like to have a central admin application which does the tasks mentioned above to perform the tasks an admin has to perform without much difficulties.

I read about remote collections using DDP.connect which would mean that I have to connect to every single collection on every other app. Could exposing a RESTful API also be a possible solution? Are there any disadvantages of it? Any other suggestions?

Separate databases for each app?

I’m building https://trombone.io which uses a separate DDP connection per app, in my experience so far it’s been straightforward to get setup - subscribing to publications/call methods from remote apps is as easy as working with the current Meteor app.

For security you can setup an admin user on each client client app and login to the app over the same DDP connection.

Jap, separate databases for each apps

Ok, thank you a lot. I read about connecting to remote databases, but remote method calls are new for me. I will have a look. Did you experience any great patterns while working on trombone?

My solution is to create routes in the applications and call them from the admin app. Simplest to implement. Since Meteor can keep doing things even after it responds to a URL, I just set URLs for things I want the client app to do, URLs that are not public and that require some parameters to work correctly.

How do you secure those routes?