Could any lawyers chime in re: Facebook/React license patent clause

With Apollo on the way, I’m thinking more and more about the risk of the Facebook patent clause. I’ve read it’s a “restrictive license” and that some companies flat allow deny the usage of Facebook fools. I’ve also read that companies seeking to get acquired by Google/Microsoft avoid the tools.

Now - there is some discussion on this subject online with lots of assurances, but it’s coming from bro-lawyers. Can someone with a legal background clarify what offensive and defensive capabilities it provides to the parties involved?

1 Like

I’m a patent attorney turned developer. Attorneys are scared to answer these hypotheticals because our textbooks are full of malpractice suits for off the cuff answers.

I may be in that camp. But we need to get more specific before I run for the hills.

Are you specifically worried about the graphql IP used in Apollo not being protectable?

2 Likes

Well, if there is something to feel “responsible” for then there could be an issue. Since MDG is planning to sell to enterprise markets, I wonder what their take on the situation is.

cc @debergalis @gschmidt

1 Like

Nothing in specific - I am just curious what situation it creates between Facebook and the company using their tools.

I’m reading some things about it being a “restrictive license” with a “patent rider” which may put a company using their tools in a vulnerable position should Facebook chose to do so. So I’m just trying to figure that out.

Or - in more direct terms - what do you do if you create a messaging app with their tools and become big? Do they have any leverage over you?

Plus - Facebook is not just a social company these days, they have their hands in everything.

If some lawyer signs up for an anonymous account and posts their opinion that’d be cool :sunglasses: TunnelBear is a good, free(ish) VPN with no logging.

I don’t know if that’s legal?

1 Like