Create an app without Mongodb and use REST api with json returns instead

I am very new to Meteor and i’m wondering how can i use this awesome framework without Mongodb and get my datas from a REST api who return json.

Thank you!

It’s actually fairly easy to consume REST endpoints with Meteor (client-side and/or server-side). However, the mongo package is part of the build for the standard meteor-platform package, which makes it rather messy to physically remove it from your app.

It is much easier to start to work with Meteor if you accept that mongo is part of the platform. If you don’t want to persist mongo data to disk (“have a MongoDB database”) you don’t have to. You can take your REST data and insert it into a client-only Mongo.Collection, either directly within the client, or (in a more Meteor way) via a publication from the server. Alternatively, you can call a server-side Meteor method from the client to perform secured CRUD (assuming you right your code with this in mind).

Putting REST data into a Mongo.Collection makes it really easy to manipulate as MongoDB-like documents.

My apologies for the number of links, but I wanted to make it short, while still allowing you to get to the core documentation. :smile:

6 Likes

If i go fetch REST data and put it into a Mongo.Collection, it will be a
double DB application isn’t it? I create an app with a Java developper who
will create a web service REST api and i will retrieve informations from it.

Can you show me a little how to create a Mongo.Collection client only? Or
how can i retrieve the information and use the publication. Just a little way to do it right.

Thank you for your great answer! I just began the level up tuts tutorial on
meteor.js and it’s great!

Do the https://www.discovermeteor.com/packages#full-edition “Working With External APIs” part will teach me how to do it?

Thank you!