Creating a "Manage Users" admin page, need to list users and their roles

I use the Meteor Roles package to give users groups and roles. So far I’ve created some users and manually added them to groups/roles. Now I’m trying to build a “Manage Users” page for the admin to view all users and their groups/roles in a table, and be able to adjust them from that page with a drop down menu.

For example, something along the lines of this. That one is taken from a tutorial on The Meteor Chef, which can be found here. The tutorial is great, but I’m running into troubles as it uses flow router instead of iron router (which I use), as well as it doesn’t seem to take into account user groups. I also am only needing the list of users and ability to adjust their groups/roles, and not the invitations at this time.

What would be the best way for me to achieve this? It feels like a relatively simple thing to implement but I’ve gotten a little lost. I’m fairly new to Meteor and would greatly appreciate any code examples or anything at all.

Thanks!

Take a look at the accounts-admin-ui-bootstrap-3 package. It’s a bit dated and geared towards bootstrap, but it works with Iron Router and should help serve as a reference app (if you can’t use it directly).

1 Like

Thanks for sharing! I’ve been trying to use it as a reference and make that work but unfortunately having no success so far, I seem to be having a lot of troubles because I am using groups for my users. I’ve tried looking for other projects to use as references that have a UI to manage users and assign them groups and permissions for those groups but can’t seem to find any.

I’ll continue to try and make it work and I’ll be sure to update my thread on here if I can find a way to make it happen.