Dazed And Confused

Hi, Im currently doing the rounds of learning Javascript and all things related such as Angular, Coffeescript etc… and now i’ve come to try Meteor and it’s not going well at all?

As a complete novice to Meteor I followed the install instructions and got everything setup and running including a new project at localhost:3000.

So great I think, I’ll follow some Youtube videos… quite quickly it becomes apparent, that Meteor has changed since the video was made, so I give up on that (as I don’t have project.html, *.css *.js instead I have main.html , main.css etc… No big deal I’ll follow the tutorial on the Meteor website…

Only… right at the very beginning after project creation, im told to change the code in “imports” folder? which I simply do not have ? even the tutorial which shows the default files installed shows there is no imports folder?

So i give up on this…

I search for updated tutorials, and come across a Free ebook , im sure you know the one, anyway I read this one evening without trying the code on my computer and all seams really good and explained really well, that is until I actually come to try the code in the book , and when i try to insert data into the mongoDB database, I get an error

`    PlayersList.insert({
     name: "David",
     score: 0
     });
     "YuhrSydsXwX7kihd7"
     insert failed: Method '/players/insert' not found`

so it looks like it part works but then fails, maybe on the server only? or maybe on the client?

So again I find myself having to give up?

So my question is can somebody point me to something I can use to learn the latest version of Meteor, or maybe I should be learning an older version??

To be honest im totally lost, ive never come across anything so promising, yet so flawed in all my days.
take Angular for instance, simply pull in the script and your away, simple! why is Meteor so difficult to learn?
Surely the point is to make Meteor New user friendly to help grow its following?