DB updates not persisting only when client viewing certain pages in app

Hi,

I have a bit of a strange issue that I can’t seem to get my head around…

I am trying to update a doc, but when I have a client open and subscribed to that collection, the update succeeds (either from method call or from mongo shell - no errors) but the data change doesn’t persist.

If I browse to another page in the app and try the update from the shell again, the change does persist.

I thought it might be schema related, but the only schema I have set for that collection is on a different method. Just in case that was causing weird issues, I commented out anything to do with that method and restarted the app… Issue still happening…

Is there something with Simpl-schema that persists even between app restarts? And is a simpl-schema attached to a single method then applied all the time for that collection?

Any ideas welcome!

Thanks!
Alex

Ok a little more info. It would appear that only certain updates hit the issue:

Non working example

db.jobRoles.update({ _id: “TEuffsddARMe4FFNo” }, { $push: { “stages.columns.Invited”: { “test”: “test” } } })

Working example

db.jobRoles.update({ _id: “TEuffsddARMe4FFNo” }, { $push: { candidates: { “test”: “test” } } })

So is it something to do with a deeply nest document ID perhaps?

It looks like you’re doing thing on the client side (minimongo) only.

The mongo shell is server side though no?

Maybe you could provide some more info to your data structure. What schema does your jobRoles collection have?

No Schema applied directly to the collection at the moment.

The only schema involvement is used in a validated-method, which does update the same collection, but is not the method I’m calling.

The only other collection configuration in play is a collection hook before insert to add createdAt

A schema is the structure of your collection and determines what is a string, a boolean, an object, an array and so on.