Deploying meteor app on my server

Hello,
This probably sound like a stupid question but I as a (french) student just started to use meteor for a school project. I am a first year web dev student and I came across youtube videos explaining how good meteor was so I decided to give it a shot and built my project with it. Now comes the time to put it online on the designated ovh server that the teachers gave us to a specific adress, but I can’t find a way to make it work on it and I’m starting to get worried.
If anyone could help me I would be very thankful !
Have a nice day

Hi,

How are you trying to deploy it? Are you using meteor up?

Do you have ssh access to the server? Is it an ubuntu, linux or windows server?

If it is an ubuntu server and you have ssh access the easiest way is by using meteor up. You can follow the guide in this link.

http://meteor-up.com/getting-started.html

1 Like

Hello, I have a simple web host server on ovh I don’t really know if I can access any kind of ssh, I tried using meteor up but I don’t really seem to be able to

If you’re just learning and want to host a meteor app for free that is not intended to be production grade you might want to consider using a Heroku sandbox account + MLab sandbox (mongo) with Horse buildpack located here-> https://github.com/AdmitHub/meteor-buildpack-horse.git

You’ll need to set up the necessary env vars too - https://docs.meteor.com/environment-variables.html

It’s an easy way to get set up and deploy your app

Note Heroku sandbox sites “fall asleep” and take min to wake up once they do, but if you’re just learning or just need a user acceptance test site and don’t care about the sleep thing it’s not a bad way to go.

2 Likes

How is your teacher expecting your to use the ovh server?
What kind of information has he given you about the server?
Which operating system are you using?
What kind of project are you making?

Hello,