Deploying Meteor App

Newbie here, forgive me for noob questions. Have just taken over a new role and been left with a couple of meteor app files, an app tarball and a db tarball.

Just wondering if there is a way to deploy and test this, have tried setting up a Ubuntu 14.04 server with npm 0.12 , nginx and mongodb installed. Have also gone through various guides online but can’t seem to figure out what to do.

The app seems like a web app, it contains a server folder and a web.browser folder. I tried running npm install on the server folder, but there is no main.js file just boot.js file.

Any help/guide on how to proceed with this would be appreciated, am just trying to get this app up and running, thanks.

If that’s a standard Meteor bundle, the top level directory (bundle/) will include a README outlining the broad-brush installation requirements.

This is the README from a 1.6 build:

This is a Meteor application bundle. It has only one external dependency:
Node.js v8.9.3. To run the application:

$ (cd programs/server && npm install)
  $ export MONGO_URL='mongodb://user:password@host:port/databasename'
  $ export ROOT_URL='http://example.com'
  $ export MAIL_URL='smtp://user:password@mailhost:port/'
  $ node main.js

Use the PORT environment variable to set the port where the
application will listen. The default is 80, but that will require
root on most systems.

Find out more about Meteor at meteor.com.

The version of node.js to use is in the first paragraph - your node.js version sounds like it will be different (you said npm 0.12 - did you mean node.js 0.12?). You should use the version of npm which was used with your version of node.js.

Edit: Are you installing on the same architecture as the build?

By default, your application is bundled for your current architecture. This may cause difficulties if your app contains binary code due to, for example, npm packages. You can try to override that behavior with the --architecture flag.

1 Like