Direct question: Is Apollo a pivoting movement?

Hi everyone,

Is Apollo a pivoting movement or a parallel project to MDG? I mean, is MDG persevering on Meteor or is pivoting towards Apollo?

I hope no one gets mad with this question. I’m just a hobbist coder, other stuff pays my bills, so i’m too noob for trying any double meaning or insinuation. This is not meant to be a you-name-it-is-dying-post. It’s simply a question from a business point of view.

2 Likes

My personal opinion is that MDG is putting a lot of developer hours into Apollo right now to get it into a production-ready state. However, I don’t believe that Meteor will be abandoned, although I wouldn’t expect much in the way of new MongoDB functionality making its way into minimongo, unless it’s from the community. Expect Apollo to be the way Meteor’s data layer is materialized going forward.

As @sashko’s stated on a related topic:

Look out for Meteor 1.5, which will give us a clean Apollo integration.

7 Likes

We’re focusing most on where we can provide the most value for the overall developer community. Data loading is where we have the most expertise, and where the overall ecosystem could be most improved. So we’re simultaneously building a new data system for Meteor developers which will be able to query from any backend, and a data system for the rest of the world which gives them a taste of the declarative loading and reactivity Meteor developers have enjoyed for so long.

There are some great projects in JavaScript, like React and Angular 2, which are making our job much simpler – MDG no longer has to do anything to make developing UIs much easier. So that’s why we are focusing most on data and build systems right now.

And as you can read on the forums, it’s much better to have a data system that can be used anywhere – any UI or backend – than one that is coupled to a specific server framework.

14 Likes

Which reminds me, @sashko: