Displaying contents of sub-documents

Hello,

I’m quite new to Meteor and have been playing around with manipulating documents. I have been able to display top-level documents in my collection to the end-user, but was wondering if it’s at all possible to display sub-documents to the user. My document in Mongo looks like this:

"_id" : "EyFYm5ixNezPafddr",
        "name" : "Profile",
        "Channels" : {
                "channel test" : {
                        "name" : "channel test",
                        "HighLimit" : 6.5,
                        "LowLimit" : 4.5,
                        "StopCount" : 10
                }
        },
        "steps" : {

},
        "createdBy" : "psG7RnnD35J6uwceY"

My end goal is to have users create Channels, and as they create them they appear in a list and be editable. The piece of the puzzle I’m missing is actually displaying these channels. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

I think the document should look like this:

"_id" : "EyFYm5ixNezPafddr",
"name" : "Profile",
"channels" : [
  {
    "id": "some id",
    "name" : "channel test",
    "HighLimit" : 6.5,
    "LowLimit" : 4.5,
    "StopCount" : 10
  },
  // other channels 
],
"steps" : {

},
"createdBy" : "psG7RnnD35J6uwceY"

Read more Mongodb update sub document: https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/reference/operator/update/positional/

Thanks for the reply. I am a little confused on how this particular article would lead me on the right track. Do you mind explaining in a bit more detail?

You should read more about MeteorJS concept.
You get that list of channels from server by subscribing data publication or by using method.
Make form to user edit data
Update the data by calling method, the method (on the server) will update/insert the data.

@apegah what @minhna is trying to explain is to design your collection properly like what he had shown on his reply and then going to the tutorial from link

1 Like