Economical servers & databases for Meteor apps?

Hello, can you help by suggesting economical options for hosting my Meteor app and database?

I am new to deploying Meteor apps. What I am finding is a standard linux shared server will not work for Meteor apps, is that correct? When I have developed php and python applications I have simply used a linux shared server that costs US$10 a month to host and I used free open source databases that reside on the same server.

Current setup:

• I currently have a prototype of my Meteor app hosted on Meteorā€™s Galaxy ā€˜serverā€™. Current monthly costs are US$15/month (with only one visitor - myself - using the app).
  • From what I understand I cannot create/host a Mongodb database on Galaxy right?
  • So I have a mongodb database hosted with ScaleGrid (I have one month free)

What Iā€™d love to know is options/hosts where I can host my Meteor app economically and desirably keep my Mongodb database on that same host for free. Does such a thing exist?

AWS is probably one of the cheapest options, you can get burstable t3 instances for < $5 per month, you could host both meteor and mongo on the same machine if you donā€™t need high availability, redundency or performance

1 Like

Thanks for your advice @znewsham :slight_smile: Iā€™ve had limited experience with AWS a couple of years ago.

• I found it quite expensive (atleast compared to a linux shared server option). Am I correct or has it changed?
  • Will hosting both the files and the database really only cost < $5 a month?
  • If I get lots of users using the app will that number spike significantly?
  • Is it relatively easy to setup AWS for a Meteor app?
  • What do you use for your apps? AWS? :slight_smile:

NodeChef provides hosting for apps of any sizes starting from as low as $9 for both Meteor and MongoDB database hosting

1 Like