Edited: MDG May Contact Your Customer - Bad for Consultants and Web Developers

Yesterday MDG sent my client this email. I’ve removed the client email, name, and domain for their privacy. MDG pulled the client information from somewhere and contacted them directly, out of the blue.

While I have a Galaxy account, I have my own reasons for not moving my client to Galaxy hosting and given the lake of respect to the developer shown in this email, I may never migrate to Galaxy.

Fortunately my client trusts me and we have worked together for years, but not all clients are like that and as a consultant, I don’t need an overzealous business development rep suggesting to my clients that somehow I’ve made a mistake one their project.

I’ve been using Meteor for about 1.5 years, but given all the recent changes to Meteor, I’m already on the fence about continuing to use the platform. This type of behavior by MDG just serves to drive me farther away. If you are thinking about using Meteor, be careful.

Here is the email my client received:

Date: August 4, 2016 at 2:26:32 PM MDT
To: ‘client email address removed’
Subject: Switch your Meteor app to Galaxy: save time, boost reliability (‘domain name removed’)

Hi ‘Client Name Removed’ - Thanks for using the Meteor framework to build your app at ‘domain name removed’. I’d like to personally invite you to run your app on Galaxy, the only hosting platform designed specifically for apps built using Meteor.

Thousands of customers worldwide trust Galaxy to host their Meteor apps and websites; it’s easy, reliable, and scales effortlessly with your business. Galaxy is also built and supported by the expert engineers behind the Meteor framework itself. Many companies have switched to Galaxy due to poor experiences with other providers like Modulus due to their lack of reliability and support.