Excited about Meteor!

Hello all! I wanted to take a minute and introduce myself and say “hello”. I am a full-time web developer and my main focus is PHP using Laravel (3+ years). As you may know, the Laravel community has quickly adopted Vue as their front-end library of choice. I have used it a couple of times but it has always felt a little awkward to me. I’m not blaming that on Vue but more of my taste in developer experience. After looking around for quite some time, I found Meteor and decided to give it a try. I have been reading the docs, guides, forum posts and watching some tutorials and must say that I am loving it so far. I have built a couple of practice apps with it and I truly feel like Meteor is to JS what Laravel is to PHP - it just feels so good writing code with Meteor and I feel like I am falling in love with coding all over again (not that I ever fell out of love with it ).

Anyhow, I am very excited to continue learning Meteor and I appreciate you taking the time to for this introduction.

31 Likes

Welcome to the community! Glad you found Meteor, I’m sure you are going to love it.

4 Likes

In LAMP land, you don’t (typically) need to deal with DevOps. I think you’ll find that to be Node’s pain point for you. I was for me, anyway.

2 Likes

@dericcain welcome to the club, I had the same background as you, only I worked for over 7 years with Java / PHP stack. Meteor speaked to me as a developer. There is nothing out there like it. And when I say nothing, there trully is nothing.

Try creating a “live” application in LAMP stack, with latency compensation and everything.

People worry about performance when it comes to Meteor, and that MongoDB is not relational. These were the 2 main problems me and other devs solved:

Check this out, if you want to remove the hassle of relational data.

7 Likes

@dericcain Your love with Meteor will grow as you spend more & more time with it :slight_smile:

1 Like