Expiration date for items in a collection

i started learning meteor a while ago and went on to begin with my first project which is a server for a certain board game.
i have started with a main chat room, and decided to keep all the messages in a collection. now, i do not want the old messages to be saved for ever, but only for a few hours, say 3 hours. is there a simple way to tell a collection to only store items for 3 hours and then delete them? or mabye there is a way to tell a collection to only store a certain amount of items and then start deleting the last ones when new items are inserted?

thanks in advance!

1 Like

has a good example of how to do this. Note that it uses _ensureIndex which is a mongo command, but has the underscore because it’s not part of the official Meteor API. This means it could change in the future.

1 Like

https://docs.mongodb.org/manual/tutorial/expire-data/
Standart mongodb TTL

1 Like

Thank you both, it seems that simply writing :
db.messages.createIndex( { “createdAt”: 1 }, { expireAfterSeconds: 10 } );
on cmd made it work.
i wonder now, is there a way to use db commands through the code instead of cmd? cause like this i am afraid stuff might reset some day and ill have to write all the commands all over again. i tried writing the same line on the server code and it did not recognize “db” (probably a noob attempt by me).

Inside of Meteor you would typically do this in a server/ file:

Meteor.startup(function() {
  SomeCollection._ensureIndex( { "createdAt": 1 }, { expireAfterSeconds: 10 } );
});

Edited for documented approach:

Meteor provides the rawCollection method to gain access to the underlying NPM MongoDB driver. So, the following is probably the approach you should take to avoid deprecation of _ensureIndex:

SomeCollection.rawCollection().ensureIndex( { "createdAt": 1 }, { expireAfterSeconds: 10 } );
});
4 Likes

thank you for your answer.