Filtering Collection Data (Blaze) - What am I doing wrong?

The code below only loads data where task has the entry ‘Test’.

Meteor.publish 'activities', ->
Activities.find(task: 'Test')

How can I do the same when a button is clicked when the code is:

Activities.find()

Here’s my code so far:

Client:

Template.dashboard.events({
'click .ButtonDemo': function (e) {
  e.preventDefault();
  console.log("Successful click");
  activities: Activities.find({task: 'Test'}).fetch()
}
});

Router:

@route "dashboard",
path: "/dashboard"
waitOn: ->
  [
    subs.subscribe 'activities'
  ]
data: ->
  activities: Activities.find({},{sort: {createdAt: -1}}).fetch()

You should define activities inside helpers object for dashboard template and not in events handlers level.
By the way, using flow-router with Template level subscription is more flexible.

Hi,

Thank you for the response. I’ve attempted to use helpers instead of events, still it’s not working however. I’m really new to this, coding not just Meteor, sorry if I’m missing something here. Would it be possible for you to show me? I’ve done the following:

Template.dashboard.helpers({
e.preventDefault();
activities: Activities.find({task: 'Test'}).fetch()
}
});

Replace in your button click event: activities: Activities.find({task: 'Test'}).fetch()

With:

console.log(Activities.find({task: 'Test'}).fetch()); // Check if you found your respective result

Hi, thanks, I have done so, see my code below:

e.preventDefault();
  console.log(Activities.find({task: 'Test'}).fetch());
}
});

In the console I see the following, my displayed data remains the same however in the UI.

[Document]
0: Document {_id: "b8A5dRKstC6eDPfE9", task: "Test", createdAt: Sat Dec 28 2019 20:22:07 GMT+0000 (Greenwich Mean Time), owner: "hyqsfvn5zAZM42CNF", updatedAt: Mon Dec 30 2019 13:25:38 GMT+0000 (Greenwich Mean Time), …}
length: 1
__proto__: Array(0)

Could you advise further please?