Getting a Macbook Pro... 2015?

So it’s time to get serious with my app, and produce the iPhone version. Sadly my old mac is ‘too old’ now… So gota buy a new one.

I’m selling my super windows computer to do this. Is this mac above worth $1k and will it still be able to run the correct version of XCode for like 2 years?

Any help appreciated :slight_smile:

YouDoer.com

I’ve been using my Early 2015 macbook pro for a couple years now with xcode and meteor and it works just fine. I bought it at usedmac.com for about $750 USD.

Awesome. Good stuff.

If you build your mobile app in React Native you could use Expo which has build servers for iOS and could save you the cost of the purchase of the Mac Book.

Yeah really? No need for Xcode?

I am quite invested in Blaze.

I’m about to pickup a Mac book air, new…

30 day returns tho so I guess I’ll test it out

I would go straight and buy the mackbook pro, I had a 2014 13 inch but with 4gb ram and it worked with no issues. But I will recommend you getting the extra ram.

With react native and expo it depends on the project, the features and packages you want, but is also a posibility.

If you are going to use the macbook air only to build and test it might not be a bad option if you actually like that computer.

So, I am 31. I am turning in to a QUALITY freak. I did go and buy Micrsofts best and was super disappointed.

Went to staples, got my MacBook Air 2018 new model for $1700 CAD taxes in. Open the box, bam, it’s amazing.

I just got home, Meteor is installed with no fuss. Now I’m sitting here blogging. Neato.

I go to connect to WiFi and my iPhone asks if I want to share the connection password. Yes.

My god, apple is so much better than Microsoft and I’ve been SO WRONG about it.

I’m concerned about the 128gig hdd… lol. Windows would eat up about 80gigs after a month or two.

But this Mac is my main workhorse. I will NOT be gaming on it. Sold my Alienware R17 with all my game accounts.

TIME TO GET TO WORK.