Help me clarify some questions for our developer

Hi, we’re currently discussing using meteor vs firebase vs APIs. I’m a frontend designer but I don’t consider myself a super proficient developer, so here it goes: Some of my developer’s concerns vs using meteor are:

1. How do we both work on the same app?
Imo that’s simply handled by dev branches, then merging which then deploys to staging? Question is: How do we set up individual dev branches easily?

2. How to expand beyond web?
His concern is building an android app. His opinion is meteor’s frontend and backend are too tightly coupled and the logic should be on the backend (i. e. checking if a user is active), so how do we separate the logic of the database from the view layer properly? E. g. let’s say we want to grab a user profile, how do we make sure that web and android retrieve the same data. I guess his concerns are about mongo and the meteor.find(). It’s not standardized basically, meaning on android and web we could do different queries.

3. How feasible is it having many concurrent users with meteor?
He thinks it’s bad for performance because every users directly accesses the database whereas with an API approach for example you first call the API and the API manages how to access the database and access the load.

4. How secure are meteor apps?
He also thinks it’s very dangerous exposing the entire database to the user

Correct, you manage that via independent git workflow - nothing special to meteor. Take a look at “git flow” as a really good approach. First of all you do not need a branch for each developer, because you should work with a central repo like github. So every developer has its own copy of source and workspace until running push/pull. You should create “feature” branches for parts of your app you want to append without affecting the main app.