Help updating the correct item

Hi everybody, I’m still new to Meteor (and React for that matter) but so far it has been great. I’m trying to update the price of a single item in a collection but something is off because the item I’m trying to update always gets updated to the last item added to the collection.

Below is how I add an item to the collection…

addItem = e => {
e.preventDefault();
if (this.newItemName.value !== ‘’) {
PantryDB.insert({
name: this.newItemName.value.trim(),
price: this.newItemPrice.value.trim(),
stocked: false
});
}

this.newItemName.value = '';
this.newItemPrice.value = '';

};

…and the form that takes in the info…

<form className="Pantry__form" onSubmit={this.addItem}>
      <div className="Pantry__form-content">
        <label htmlFor="newItemName">Name: </label>
        <input type="text" ref={input => (this.newItemName = input)} />
        <label htmlFor="newItemPrice" id="marginLabel">
          Price:{' '}
        </label>
        <input type="text" ref={input => (this.newItemPrice = input)} />
      </div>

<button type="submit">Add Item</button>
    </form>

This all works great and I then map over the DB and return each item in it, each item then has an input element that displays it’s price and calls the update method onChange…

<input
className=“Item__price”
type=“text”
defaultValue={item.price}
id={item._id}
ref={input => (this.price = input)}
onChange={this.updatePrice}
/>

…and the update method that gets called…

updatePrice = e => {
e.preventDefault();
const _id = e.target.id;
const itemToUpdate = PantryDB.find({ _id: e.target.id }).fetch();

PantryDB.update(itemToUpdate[0]._id, { $set: { price: this.price.value.trim() } });

};

Any thoughts? I’m sure I’m not binding the item correctly perhaps but I can’t seem to figure it out! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks