How can I put a template in its own html file? I keep getting errors. Please help

Hi. I’m very new to Meteor and totally embarrassed I can’t figure this out. I’d be grateful if some kind soul could help me to figure out what obvious thing I’m missing.

I want to be able to put template definitions in their own files rather than lumping everything into one huge .html files. I looked at the templating documentation and I thought all I had to do was just add a new .html file with the templated content, but I keep getting this error:

Errors prevented startup:
While processing files with templating (for target web.browser):
hello.html:1: Expected one of: <body>, <head>, <template>

I’ve tried adding head, body, and template tags to the html file with the templating information – all three, or individually. So for example. if my main html file was looked like this:

<head>
  <title>app1</title>
</head>

<body>
  <h1>Welcome to Meteor!</h1>

{{> hello}}
</body>

…how am I supposed to format another html file to contain the hello template info?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

It should look like this:

hello.html:

<template name="hello">
  <div>Hello!</div>
</template>

Uh oh. That was what I was doing. Double checked and still getting that very error

Are you using a fresh project?

You only are supposed to have ONE template file with the <head> and <body> - the rest of the HTML files you have should only contain <template name="xxx"> sections.

Not sure if thats the problem here, but thought I would point it out :smile:

Hmm. I just started a fresh project, and I’m getting the same error. At this point my test is just this:

<head>
  <title>newapp</title>
</head>

<body>
  <h1>Welcome to Meteor!</h1>

{{> hello}}
</body>

…and then in hello.html, nothing but this:

<template name="hello">
  <div>Hello!</div>
</template>

Only ONE for <body>, but <head> definitions aren’t limited)

1 Like

so you’re using the default hello app?