How can I update others' users accounts as an admin?

When I try to update an user’s account as an admin, I get: update failed: Access denied
This is my code:
function updateUser() {
Meteor.users.update(
{
_id: id,
},
{
$set: {
profile: {
email: user.email,
name: user.name,
surname: user.surname,
role: user.role,
subject: user.subject,
classNumber: user.classNumber,
classIdentity: user.classIdentity,
birthDate: user.birthDate,
},
},
},
);
Meteor.users.allow({
update: updateUser,
});
}

I think you’re a tad confused on how allow/deny works. The allow and deny functions of a collection take a map of functions where the eventual return of those functions should be Boolean in nature. If any allow function returns true, no matter if any other has returned false, the operation is allowed to proceed. The converse is true for deny functions. If any deny function returns true, no matter if any other returned false, the operation is not allowed to proceed. These functions should only do very simple checking, and not have side effects.

Your allow function should look something like this…

import { Meteor } from 'meteor/meteor';

Meteor.users.allow({
  update(userId, doc) {
    const currentUser = Meteor.users.findOne(userId);
    return !!currentUser && currentUser.role === "admin"
  }
});

Style Tip :nail_care:

Wrapping code blocks in triple backticks makes them easier for others to read by displaying them with fixed width fonts, stopping them from wrapping, and adding syntax highlighting.

```
// code here
```

1 Like

It also doesn’t work, @copleykj help me, please

I’d need to see the code to help.

1 Like

This is my code:

import { Meteor } from 'meteor/meteor';
export function updateAccounts(id, user) {
  function updateUser() {
    Meteor.users.update(
      {
        _id: id,
      },
      {
        $set: {
          profile: {
            email: user.email,
            name: user.name,
            surname: user.surname,
            role: user.role,