How many packages is too much

Hi All, new to here (and to Meteor also)

Everyone loves packages, me too. However, I was wondering average count of packages per application on community, especially on production apps. So, as a total newbie for meteor I am looking tips if It is ok to shoot my app like 25 external packages or not?

Cheer’s
Erno

It’s totally OK! In some sense, using more packages means you write less code.

too many packages for what?

If the packages are maintained then it’s definitely ok. In theory your entire application could just be separate packages that you either get from atmosphere or that you develope in house. Meteor as a framework is nothing more than a group of independent packages that work together.

If you take a look at this Meetup Presentation there may a number of reasons also to design your app (your own code) as packages.

Thoughts on “module oriented” vs packages?

Even though you can write less code using more packages, wouldn’t the app take more time to load?

Let’s say I have an community like app for the Bass Players.

For the core for our app we need iron:router, account packages (1-3)
Collections2, spinner and others, you name it.

We also want to app behave and look good so we need bootsrap.
And then we have Jquery, and lets say 5 jquery plugins. Then we need 10 other cool js components like timelines and carousel.

So, we can easily end up having 25 packages for the looks and features. What I was thinking was that instead of putting all these js 10 components in by packages for example, should I consider loading them in traditionally on pahe level when needed?

Also, I cant stop thinking: more packages = slower app ???

Cheers and thanks for your comments so far

Erno

1 Like

I’m not sure how it follows that more packages = slower app. The code has to get to the browser one way or another and using packages is a really easy way to manage it.