How to add API Secret keys without revealing them to the client?

I’ve got a cloud based image host which requires authentication in the form of API public and secret keys.

In PHP the concept is simple, the Secret key is stored away from prying eyes and delivered via a CURL request in the background for example. But, as I’m new to the world of Meteor / Node.js / React I can’t figure out how I would do this?

I’ve read about the settings.json file, which can be used to store things just like this, and I know how it is defined :

{ 
  "privateKey": "Only Server can see this",
  "public" : {
    "publicKey": "Client can see this" 
  }
}

Then these vars can be accessed like so :

const PUBLIC_KEY = Meteor.settings.public.publicKey;
const PRIVATE_KEY = Meteor.settings.privateKey;

But there are 2 issues that I can’t get my head around:

1. How do I call the PRIVATE_KEY?

I tried :

if (Meteor.isServer) {
  console.log(PRIVATE_KEY);
}

But nothing happens (in the server console). Can this only be run in the server folder?

1. How do I use this PRIVATE_KEY in my component without revealing it to the client?

I have an image upload component, running client side, that needs access to the PRIVATE_KEY.
Do I have to move the whole component server side to do this?

Hi, yes, whole file has to be only server side to allow access to Meteor.settings.

Meteor.isServer used on client side is just condition which does not affect the fact that you are still on client so only Meteor.settings.public is accessible.

Sorry, I hit the space bar and it published the post before I had time to finish it. Couldn’t find a delete button to remove it, so had to just whip the rest up quick time :wink:

Thanks for the reply Jiri,

Forgive my ignorance but how would I even start to use a server side component on the client side?

Is it coded up as usual and then imported into the client side script inside an if(Meteor.isServer) conditional?

I don’t really understand how it works in this respect.