How to add geojson to objects

This is my first meteor project and I’m new to mongo (and document databases). I am writing a building inventory and therefore have a collection called Buildings. I will likely have about 200 buildings in the inventory.

I would like to put all of the buildings on a map (likely going to use leaflet). I want to colorize the buildings based on category info, so I’m using the following schema for my building objects

{
 'name': 'Big Building',
 'address': '123 my street',
 'location': {
    'type': 'Point',
    'coordinates': [ -84, 12 ], // WGS84 coordinates 
 },
 'image': '...', // base64 representation of image
 'category 1': 'some value',
 'category 2': 'some other value'
}

There are potentially many categories (i.e. 15 or so). Is this the best way to store my building information? Can anyone offer me some advice on this schema?

S

1 Like

My understanding from your description is that category is a set.

I would put the categories in an object or an array

An object is a little bit easier to manage but you will have some redundancy because JavaScript gives you maps, not sets, thereafter you need to store a value there, say true

categories : { 
   one : true,
   two : true
}

In mongo you can query whether an object contains a given field with $exists

You can also use an array because Mongo gives you a way to treat arrays as sets whenever you update them which allows you to avoid duplicates

categories : ['one', 'two']

Mongo provides $addToSet that adds an element to an array if it’s not already there