How to debug client side NPM package within a Meteor 1.3 package?

Note: I am a mostly self-taught javascript amateur that has almost all of my experience on the Meteor platform. What lies below is an in-progess quest to properly write a 1.3 package.

When writing a package I would like to follow the Meteor 1.3 best practices. My specific goal is to import the Prosemirror NPM package. But I will try to generalize into the case of importing a client-side NPM package for use on the client side within a package.

In the guide it says NPM dependencies can be added with Npm.depends but it only mentions that for server dependencies.

The guide shows the use of a client-side NPM package in React but they use tmeasday:check-npm-versions in that package which implies the dependency was installed directly.

Relevant FAQs:

• Should I use api.exports() or ES6 export?
    • As per the migration notes it is suggested to use export from the mainModule
  • Is there any way to debug incorrect usage of ‘import’ and ‘export’ in a package?
    • After you’ve added your NPM.depends in package.json and added an import of that package in your mainModule check the import worked with console.log
    • Same within you demo app
  • I see my package variable in the console but it is not defined?
    • If you are using the ecmascript package your .js files will each be a module. Stuff imported into a module will not be global.
      So how does one properly integrate a NPM client side package into a Meteor 1.3 package?

In the package.js I have:

Npm.depends({ prosemirror: '0.5.1'});

In my packages mainModule js file:

import { ProseMirror } from "prosemirror/dist/edit"

then

export const Prosemirror = 'ProseMirror';

I add the local package to my demo project.

meteor add prosemeteor:prosemirror

In my demo project I use

import { Prosemirror } from 'meteor/prosemeteor:prosemirror'

Problem is that when I run the demo I don’t see ProseMirror as a global.