How to display real time json data from API

How do I make a one page application which displays data from the following json api:

https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/

I am a complete beginner with no experience at all.
I just want the data to be displayed, and updated every 1 minute.
Probably using bootstrap

I made a very rough demo for you at meteorpad

quick notes

1. /client/app.js Template.bitstamp.onCreated When the Template is created an interval timer is invoked to call a server method (every minute in this context - 60000 milliseconds)
  2. /server/app.js Meteor.methods the server method makes an HTTP get request to the url (as above) (use server to avoid CORS issues)
  3. the full response is returned to the client as an object
  4. assuming a successful call, the data section of the response object
    4.1. is transformed with underscore’s pairs method into an array of arrays representing each key/value pair
    4.2. this array is then put in a Session variable to be consumed in the template - because a session var is reactive, whenever it changes, the template will change too
  5. /main.html <template name="bitstamp"> in the template a spacebars #each block is invoked to put each item in the array (formerly a key/value pair, now an array) is placed into <li> element, and then the nested array is in a nested #each to put the key and value into separate <span> elements (which are then styled with CSS)

I also added a countdown timer, so you can see when the ticker will next be updated

And, I didn’t use Bootstrap - I wanted to demonstrate how to get the data from the API request, polling every minute, into a format consumable by the template… when you use bootstrap (or another framework) you will adapt steps 4.1 & 5 as appropriate

Hope this helps

4 Likes

Hi @garrilla the link is down. Can you please restore it? I have the same issue

that’s a thread from nearly 3 years ago

the link was at meteorpad, a 3rd party service that no longer exists