How to initialize app state with React + SSR?

I’m new to Meteor and SSR, and I’ve had a hard time finding information on how to properly initialize app data on the first render when doing SSR. To be clear, a page in my application needs some data, and I want that data sent from my server when the page is first requested.

Is there any documentation that I’m overlooking?

Also, would it be a best practice to wrap withTracker code in a conditional so that it doesn’t run on the server?

Any guidance is appreciated.

This can be complex if you are using mongo/minimongo/tracker (Apollo has more info about how to do this available). That said - I did recently work out a great solution! (If you’d like to simply get to some helpful code, check out my starter repo).

Here were my requirements:

• For scale and performance, don’t use pub/sub - use methods to grab and deliver data instead. This is not strictly necessary, but I’ve found pub/sub to be slow, even just for a single user in many cases.
  • Avoid any work in SSR if user is logged in - makes a lot of things easier. We only handle static routes - authenticated routes are not static.
  • Use offline storage, instead of temporary in-memory storage (the default for pub/sub).

To do this, I set a couple of rules:

• We’ll use mongo queries on the server and client, in an isomorphic way.
  • On the server, during SSR, we’ll capture all query data, and output it as JSON (actually, EJSON) for hydration to use.
  • On the server we’ll use mongo queries directly, instead of first waiting on data from a method call (or subscription).
  • The same goes for first-render after hydration on the client - no need to wait for a server round trip, since we already got the data. Instead, hydrate the data, then render the react tree.