How to optimize rendering of blaze.js templates on pages with lots of elements

Hello,

I’m new to Meteorjs. I am planning out a project that is a web app that does mental health assessments, and then generates a report with charts, accordion sections, tables, and other information. I’m concerned that using blaze.js I may run into issues with slow rendering times, or server bottlenecks. I’m not expecting huge traffic on the site because it something that users are likely to use once or twice a month. I am more concerned about client-side rendering. If the entire page(s) with every element open is going to be rendered at once; I’m concerned that it will lead to jank or some other problems. I see a few options. One option is to render the elements as they are needed. Either as the elements come into focus, or if it’s an accordion, when the accordion is opened. If this is possible, this would be my preferred approach. The other approach is to user spinners or a modal that would give the user feedback as the rest of the elements loaded. What is possible, and what is the best approach? Would React.js offer better options?

1 Like

How many elements are we talking?
For most applications, you won’t notice any difference in rendering performance unless you are frequently changing data and forcing frequent re-renders.

I find the slowest part is the initial loading (downloading, parsing, compiling and initial run of JS files) and then a very complex application will run speedily.

2 Likes

It varies, but it could really be a lot. The issue isn’t the data. The data is static, and it is just a list of scores and maybe 8 text questions with under 40 characters for each text field.

The issue is the UI rendering, and how it is done. If it is rendering out in a lazy, or ‘just in time’ fashion, then it’s ok. If not I’ll need to implement something like spinners or modals to avoid UI problems.