How to search multiple custom files?

So I’m a newbie to Meteor and I’ve only really had some experience working on PHP/MYSQL/MYSQLI/HTML for most of the project’s I’ve done over the last few months as a hobbie. I’m now in the process of learning Meteor/React to get started making some more responsive and easier to scale/tinker with while using less code and being able to do alot more.

My main issue right now is I’m having issues finding tutorials about how to search through external files to show the entire line of contents if it’s been found in a file (anywhere between 1mb and 5gb are file sizes and strings will probably be around at max ~4KB).

Example;

User searches for “John”

file1.txt contains “John 1” and should be outputted
file2.txt contains “Kimmy 2” and shouldn’t be shown
file3.txt contains “John 2” and “John 3” and should be output both, etc

Firstly, you are describing what is classically called an Information Retrieval (IR) problem, which is one of the classical hard problems of computer science.

Using JS to do this is probably not your best bet. Meteor (and node in general) is built specifically as a web server (I use this term loosely), to connect to a structured database and display lots of small chunks of data. It’s not designed to do large calculations like text search over GBs of data.

That being said, it’s not impossible. And if you are learning…why not give it a try.

To do a text search on an unstructured file, the basic process would be as follows:

1. Open a file
  2. Read it character by character. (or word by word, line by line, whatever)
  3. Compare your search term to the contents of what you have read
  4. If a match, return the position of the match and continue from step 2.
  5. Repeat for all the files you have.