I would like to write a section in the docs on React + Redux

I’ve been using Meteor daily now for a couple of weeks and I thoroughly love what the community has done.

I first learned about Meteor when I seen an example of how data changes in a Mongo collection updated in the UI with very little effort. That blew me away. The accounts features were the icing on the cake. Documentation is easy to read, and I was able to get up and running quickly.

As a React developer I didn’t quite understand how React fitted in. And then I learned about withTracker. I could now subscribe to record sets and pass that data down as props to container components.

Like seriously, this blew me backwards when I first did this with React.

I then tried to fit Redux into Meteor and I managed to do it in a very clean way.

To do this I got rid of withTracker and used Tracker.autorun which subscribes to methods and dispatches actions when the data changes. I use connect and mapStateToProps to pass data to components instead of withTracker.

It seems that a lot of people are migrating from Blaze to using React and I see a lot of questions on using Redux but any guides or tutorials are either dated, or of little help.

I would like to write a section on using React and Redux in the documentation if I may. Is this something that would be welcomed if I was to submit a pull request?

3 Likes

Nice work! I think this project is very similar: https://github.com/samybob1/meteor-redux-middlewares

Thank you @fullstax for coming forward to enhance the documentation. For me, a section about Redux in Meteor would be helpful a lot!
Maybe it is better to open an issue instead of waiting for an answer on the forum for a healthier communication with MDG.

1 Like

State management is very opinionated, I don’t think it’ll reach Meteor Guide, but it can reach Meteor Blog, so you should try there.