Insert works but find and fetch doesnot return anything

I’m using Meteor 1.6. I created a collection called ‘Post’ and when I go to the console window and try to insert data as in "Post.insert({content: ‘my post’}) and press enter it return the unique id suggesting insert is success. But when I type "Post.find().count()"it returns 0 instead of 1. Where am I going wrong? This is how it goes:

Woah, Meteor 1.6! Are you from the future? :stuck_out_tongue:

This usually happens when you don’t have your publications and subscriptions set up correctly.

sorry, when I checked the version it showed 1.6. … I was confused too thinking I’m sure downloaded 1.5 :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m new to Meteor, so please bear with me :slight_smile: I’m following a tutorial, and in that the insert worked fine for the instructor and he didn’t mention anything about publications and subscriptions. May I know how to set up.

It’s possible that the instructor had different set of packages installed. Probably he had autopublish and insecure and you don’t. And no, please don’t install them back, keep them out of your code, just set the publications and subscriptions up.

for testing only, you should add autopublish and insecure packages to see the result of your find query

What happens when you don’t have the correct publications and subscriptions set up (and aren’t using the autopublish package) Is that the documents first get inserted into both the server database and the client database. Then the server sends a database update to the client, but if your publications/subscriptions aren’t set up correctly, the client doesn’t have access to the documents, which means that the server will say to the client that its current subscription has zero results, and the client will then remove the documents from its local database.