Iron Router LayoutTemplate displaying Extra Template

Hi,

I am new to MeteorJS and currently building an application that also utilises the iron-router package and unsure what I am doing wrong when it comes to iron router layouts.

I have defined the following within my main.js file:

Router.configure({
    layoutTemplate: 'ApplicationLayout'
});

and the following within my main.html file:

<template name="ApplicationLayout">
    {{> yield "navbar"}}
    <div class="container">
        {{> yield "form"}}
        {{> yield "main"}}
    </div>
</template>

Using the above info, I’ve added the following Router.route within my main.js file:

Router.route('/:_id', function () {
    this.render('navbar', {
        to: 'navbar'
    });
    this.render('website_details', {
        to: 'main',
        data: function() {
            return Websites.findOne({_id: this.params._id});
        }
    });
});

I have also created a new template called website_details within my main.html file but when I run my app to display this Router.route to ‘main’, apart from displaying the navbar to ‘navbar’ and website_details to ‘main’, it is also displaying my ‘form’ as well, even though the above Router.route does not include this and do not understand why?

Can anyone pls assist as I basically assumed I would just see both ‘navbar’ and ‘main’ alone templates and not the ‘form’ template for this route.

Thanks.

Hi,

Can anyone pls assist or do I need to provide more info?

Sorry, both Meteor and Iron Router are new to me so just wondering if no one no longer uses iron router anymore?

Thanks.

Hi @tonyf,

I’ve never tried having a {{> yield regionName}} and then not giving it anything in the route! It seems you’re hitting some fallback i-r behavior where if the yield is not provided anything to render it tries to render a template whose name == regionName. Very interesting! Or is it just displaying the string “form”?

A couple alternatives spring to mind: